Research

The research agenda of the C-SEB

The research agenda of the Center for Social and Economic Behavior (C-SEB) covers three separate yet interconnected fields of study which address different aspects of human behavior: Behavioral Economic Engineering, Social and Economic Cognition, and Behavioral Management Science.
Learn more
Research groups

Research groups

Research at the C-SEB is closely linked to several collaborative research projects that focus on specific areas within the field of behavioral economics and social cognition research. These include the DFG Research Units “Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets”, “Psychoeconomics”, and “Relativity in Social Cognition”, the UoC research group “Behavioral Management Science” as well as the UoC Forums “Motivation, Self-Control, and Economic Behavior”, “Managerial Factors in Medicine”, and “Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups”.
Learn more

Research projects

Research projects

The C-SEB provides funding for a large number of different research projects in the field of behavioral economics and social cognition. The thematic scope of funded projects ranges from research on self-control and self-assessment to studies about attitudes, political orientations, and social behavior in organizations and groups. Most research projects have a strong interdisciplinary focus and use experiments for data collection.
Learn more

Laboratory infrastructure

Research labs

Data for the C-SEB research projects are mostly collected through lab experiments with voluntary test persons. For that purpose, the researchers at the center have access to several well equipped laboratories with a total of 120 computerized workplaces on the campus of the UoC. During the experiments participants are asked to solve simple decision problems or other cognitive tasks. Most test persons are students of the UoC who receive either a monetary or material compensation for their participation.
Learn more

Public talks

The C-SEB regularly invites internationally renowned researchers who work at the intersection of psychology and economics to Cologne, to present their work to a wide audience. Some of these talks are available on our website as video records for your convenience.
Learn more

Forschung

Die Forschungsagenda des C-SEB

Die Forschungsagenda des Zentrums für Soziales und Ökonomisches Verhalten (C-SEB) deckt drei unterschiedliche, aber eng miteinander verbundene Forschungsbereiche ab: das Economic Engineering, die soziale und ökonomische Kognitionsforschung und die verhaltenswissenschaftliche Managementlehre. Jedes dieser drei Forschungsfelder rückt einen anderen Aspekt menschlichen Verhaltens in den Fokus und trägt so zu einem umfassenden Verständnis gesellschaftlichen Handelns bei.
Mehr erfahren
Research groups

Forschungseinheiten

Die Forschung am C-SEB ist eng mit verschiedenen kollaborativen Forschungsprojekten der Universität zu Köln (UzK) verbunden, die jeweils ein spezifisches Gebiet innerhalb der Verhaltensökonomie und der sozialen Kognitionsforschung fokussieren. Zu diesen zählen die DFG-Forschergruppen „Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets“, „Psychoeconomics“ und „Relativity in Social Cognition“, die UzK Forschungseinheit „Behavioral Management Science“ sowie die UzK Foren „Motivation, Self-Control, and Economic Behavior“, „Managerial Factors in Medicine“ und „Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups“.
Mehr erfahren

Research projects

Forschungsprojekte

Das C-SEB fördert eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Forschungsprojekte aus dem Bereich der Verhaltensökonomie und der sozialen Kognitionsforschung. Die thematische Bandbreite reicht von Fragestellungen zur Selbstkontrolle und Selbsteinschätzung über Untersuchungen zu Einstellungen und politischen Orientierungen bis hin zu Studien über prosoziales und antisoziales Verhalten in Organisationen und Gruppen. Die Forschungsprojekte sind in der Regel interdisziplinär angelegt und erhalten die benötigten Daten durch Experimente.
Mehr erfahren

Laboratory infrastructure

Forschungslabore

Daten für die Forschung am C-SEB werden in den meisten Fällen durch Laborexperimente mit freiwilligen Probanden gewonnen. Hierzu steht den Forschenden eine gut ausgestattete Laborinfrastruktur mit insgesamt 120 computerisierten Laborplätzen auf dem Campus der UzK zur Verfügung. In den Experimenten müssen die Probanden einfache Entscheidungsprobleme oder andere kognitive Aufgaben lösen. Bei den Versuchspersonen handelt es sich in der Regel um Studierende der UzK, die für ihre Teilnahme mit Sach- oder Geldmitteln entlohnt werden.
Mehr erfahren

Öffentliche Vorträge

Das C-SEB lädt regelmäßig international anerkannte Forscherinnen und Forscher, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Ökonomie und Psychologie arbeiten, nach Köln ein, um ihre Arbeit einem breiten Publikum vorzustellen. Einige dieser Vorträge stehen auf unserer Webseite als Video-Mitschnitte zur Ansicht zur Verfügung.
Mehr erfahren