Research

The research labs of C-SEB

Lab
Lab
Lab
Lab

Experimental research

In order to produce dependable knowledge, empirical research must rely on a sound database. At the C-SEB, data is gained chiefly through economic and psychological experiments performed with volunteer subjects. These investigations are carried out either as field experiments in a “natural” environment or as laboratory experiments using custom-equipped computer workplaces.

In the laboratory experiments, subjects must solve simple decision problems or other cognitive tasks for which they will receive material or cash rewards. Some experiments are designed to test or to refine theories, others validate real-life institutions or envisaged ones in a “wind tunnel” test. The results help us understand how humans make decisions and how this decision-making behavior can be described by formal theories.

The laboratories of C-SEB

To carry out behavioral science experiments successfully, it is necessary to possess a well-equipped laboratory infrastructure. At the C-SEB, scientists will find a total of 120 computerized laboratory workplaces at their disposal on the UoC’s campus. Thus, economic and cognitive decision-making situations can be accurately simulated and observed in these laboratories using the most advanced technology.

C-SEB facilities include the Cologne Economic Research Laboratory at the UoC’s Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences, as well as the Social Cognition Laboratories at the Faculty of Human Sciences. While the economics labs are situated centrally near the University’s main building, the psychology labs are located in the basement of the main cafeteria and in front of UoC’s University Library.

Participation in experiments

CLER-Poster Participation in experiments is entirely voluntary and open to anybody. At the start of each experiment, participants are given extensive instructions on what to do and which decision problem they are facing. No special knowledge or prior skills whatsoever are needed to solve these tasks. Every year up to 80,000 subjects participate in the experiments, of which 30,000 are in campus labs and 50,000 in online experiments.

While money can be earned in some experiments, participants are given material prizes in others. However, disbursement will depend on the given experiment and, in part, on one’s own decisions and those taken by other participants.

Anyone interested in economic science experiments can sign up in the online database of the Cologne Economic Science Laboratory. Upon commencement of each new experiment, prospective participants will be notified by e-mail and can then register for a session of the experiment. For the psychology experiments, no registration is necessary. Anybody interested can just show up at the lab to participate in a study.

Forschung

Die Forschungslabore des C-SEB

Lab
Lab
Lab
Lab

Experimentelle Forschung

Um gesichertes Wissen hervorzubringen, ist die empirische Forschung auf eine solide Datenbasis angewiesen. Am Zentrum für Soziales und Ökonomisches Verhalten (C-SEB) werden Daten vor allem durch ökonomische und psychologische Experimente mit freiwilligen Probanden generiert. Die Untersuchungen finden entweder als Feldexperimente in einer natürlichen Umgebung oder als Laborexperimente an dafür eingerichteten Computerarbeitsplätzen statt.

In den Laborexperimenten müssen die Probanden einfache Entscheidungsprobleme oder andere kognitive Aufgaben lösen und werden dafür mit Sach- oder Geldmitteln entlohnt. Manche Experimente dienen dem Zweck, Theorien zu testen oder weiterzuentwickeln. Andere Untersuchungen überprüfen real existierende oder angedachte Institutionen quasi im Windkanal. Die Ergebnisse helfen den Forschenden dabei zu verstehen, wie Menschen Entscheidungen treffen und wie sich dieses Entscheidungsverhalten mit formalen Theorien beschreiben lässt.

Die Laborinfrastruktur

Damit verhaltenswissenschaftliche Experimente erfolgreich durchgeführt werden können, verfügt das C-SEB über eine gut ausgestattete Laborinfrastruktur. Den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern stehen für ihre Forschung insgesamt 120 computerisierte Laborarbeitsplätze auf dem Campus der UzK zur Verfügung. Mithilfe modernster Technik können in den Laboren ökonomische und kognitive Entscheidungssituationen exakt simuliert und beobachtet werden.

Zu den Einrichtungen des C-SEB gehören unter anderem das Kölner Laboratorium für Wirtschaftsforschung an der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät sowie die Social Cognition Laboratories an der Humanwissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Die Räumlichkeiten der ökonomischen Labore liegen zentral in der Nähe des Hauptgebäudes der Universität, die psychologischen Labore befinden sich im Untergeschoss der Hauptmensa und vor der Universitätsbibliothek der UzK.

An Experimenten teilnehmen

CLER-Poster Die Teilnahme an Experimenten erfolgt auf freiwilliger Basis und steht allen Personen offen. Die Versuchspersonen erhalten zu Beginn eines Experiments ausführliche Instruktionen darüber, was sie tun sollen und vor welchem Entscheidungsproblem sie stehen. Spezialwissen oder Vorkenntnisse sind nicht erforderlich, um die Aufgaben lösen zu können. Insgesamt nehmen jährlich bis zu 80.000 Probanden und Probandinnen an den Experimenten teil, davon 30.000 Personen in den Laboren auf dem Campus und 50.000 Personen bei Online-Experimenten.

Für die Teilnahme an einigen Experimenten erhalten die Probanden Geld, bei anderen Sachmittel. Die Höhe der Auszahlungen variiert von Experiment zu Experiment und hängt teilweise auch von den im Experiment getroffenen Entscheidungen sowie denen der anderen Teilnehmer ab.

Für die Teilnahme an wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Experimenten können sich Interessierte in die Online-Datenbank des Kölner Laboratoriums für Wirtschaftsforschung eintragen. Wenn ein neues Experiment durchgeführt wird, erhalten die Teilnehmer eine Einladung per E-Mail und könne sich für eine Sitzung des Experiments anmelden. Für die Teilnahme an psychologischen Experimenten ist keine Registrierung erforderlich. Interessierte können die Labore direkt aufsuchen und an Studien teilnehmen.