Research

The research groups in C-SEB

DFG research units are groups of outstanding researchers that receive personnel and material resources from the German Research Foundation (DFG). The units are aimed at establishing new fields of research and usually funded for a duration of six years. Each group has a defined research topic from which various program modules are derived.

The University of Cologne Forums are part of the development plan for excellent research which the UoC defined in its Institutional Strategy „The Challenge of Change and Complexity“. This funding line supports small projects with the main purpose of advancing scientific exchange within the UoC and between its partners. The UoC Forum has a flexible funding structure that makes it easy for scientists to realise innovative projects with new ideas.

C-SEB Research Group

DFG Research Unit “Psychoeconomics”

The DFG Research Unit “Psychoeconomics” brings together researchers from different disciplines to develop an integrative, data-driven understanding of how interacting motives affect human decisions and behavior.
Learn more

UoC Special Research Unit “Behavioral Management Science”

The Behavioral Management Science Unit is a network of C-SEB members and other researchers of the Faculty of Management, Economics, and Social Sciences at the UoC that conducts research on management practices by employing methods from behavioral economics.
Learn more

DFG Research Unit “Relativity in Social Cognition”

The DFG Research Unit “Relativity in Social Cognition” investigates the antecedents and consequences of comparative thinking by incorporating findings from psychology and economics.
Learn more

Completed projects

UoC Forum “Managerial Risk Factors in Medicine”

The UoC Forum “Managerial Risk Factors in Medicine” combines medicine with management science and economics as two collateral points of view. The primary objective of the forum is to identify managerial risk factors in medicine that positively influence treatment outcomes.
Learn more

UoC Forum “Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups”

The UoC Forum “Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups” is an interdisciplinary research collaboration between economists and social anthropologists in order to study common pool resource management in the Global South.
Learn more

DFG Research Unit “Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets”

The DFG Research Unit “Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets” conducts research in order to design mechanisms in firms and markets.
Learn more

UoC Forum “Motivation, Self-Control, and Economic Behavior”

The UoC Forum “Motivation, Self-Control, and Economic Behavior” is an interdisciplinary endeavor providing a scientific platform for structuring research in the field of self-control.
Learn more

Forschung

Die Forschungseinheiten des C-SEB

DFG-Forschergruppen sind Arbeitsbündnisse mehrerer herausragender Wissenschaftler, deren personelle und materielle Ausstattung von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) bereitgestellt wird. Die DFG-Forschergruppen sind meist auf sechs Jahre angelegt und sollen dazu beitragen, neue Forschungsfelder zu etablieren. Eine Forschergruppe setzt sich aus verschiedenen Programmmodulen zusammen, die auf ein übergeordnetes Forschungsthema ausgerichtet sind.

Die Foren der Universität zu Köln (UzK) sind Teil des Förderprogrammes für Spitzenforschung, das die UzK in ihrem Zukunftskonzept „Die Herausforderung von Wandel und Komplexität“ definiert hat. Im Rahmen dieser Förderlinie werden kleinere Forschungsprojekte mit dem Ziel unterstützt, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch innerhalb der Universität zu Köln und zwischen ihren Partnern zu fördern. Das Forum basiert auf einer flexiblen Förderungsstruktur, um innovative Projekte mit neuen Ideen zu ermutigen.

C-SEB Research Group

DFG-Forschergruppe „Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets“

Die DFG-Forschergruppe „Design & Behavior: Economic Engineering of Firms and Markets“ widmet sich der Erforschung und Gestaltung von institutionellen Funktionsmechanismen in Unternehmen und Märkten.
Mehr erfahren

DFG-Forschergruppe „Psychoeconomics“

Die DFG-Forschergruppe „Psychoeconomics“ bringt Wissenschaftler aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen zusammen, um ein integratives, datengestütztes Verständnis dafür zu entwickeln, wie interagierende Motive das menschliche Entscheiden und Verhalten beeinflussen.
Mehr erfahren

UzK Forschungseinheit „Behavioral Management Science“

Die Behavioral Management Science Forschungseinheit ist ein Zusammenschluss von C-SEB Mitgliedern und weiteren Forschenden der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der UzK, die mit Hilfe verhaltensökonomischer Modelle und Methoden Managementpraktiken und unternehmerisches Handeln untersuchen.
Mehr erfahren

DFG-Forschergruppe „Relativity in Social Cognition“

Die DFG-Forschergruppe „Relativity in Social Cognition“ untersucht die Ursachen und Konsequenzen vergleichenden Denkens aus psychologischer und ökonomischer Perspektive. Auf diese Weise soll der große Einfluss von Vergleichsmechanismen auf eine Vielzahl von sozialen Verhaltensweisen beschrieben und erklärt werden.
Mehr erfahren

UzK-Forum „Motivation, Self-Control and Economic Behavior“

Das UzK-Forum „Motivation, Self-Control and Economic Behavior“ bündelt die Forschungsaktivitäten auf dem Gebiet der Selbstkontrolle an der Universität zu Köln und dient als wissenschaftliche Plattform für den strukturierten Austausch in diesem Bereich.
Mehr erfahren

Abgeschlossene Projekte

UzK-Forum „Managerial Risk Factors in Medicine“

Das UzK-Forum „Managerial Risk Factors in Medicine“ kombinierte medizinische Forschung mit Erkenntnissen aus der Management- und Volkswirtschaftslehre. Dadurch sollten die Managementfaktoren identifiziert werden, durch die sich die Qualität der Behandlung von Patienten im Krankenhaus verbessern lässt.
Mehr erfahren

UzK-Forum „Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups“

Das UzK-Forum „Advancing Common Pool Resource Management in Heterogeneous Groups“ war ein interdisziplinäres Kooperationsprojekt von Sozialanthropologen und Ökonomen der Universität zu Köln, das das Management von Gemeinschaftsgütern im globalen Süden erforschte.
Mehr erfahren