Funding

Research grants and other funding opportunities

Forschungsförderung

Overview of grant lines

The C-SEB currently offers seven funding lines aimed at different beneficiary groups. Three of these grant programs are available to members of the Faculty of Economics & Social Sciences and the Faculty of Human Sciences of the UoC, while the remaining four programs are reserved to C-SEB members. The first-named category comprises Junior Start-Up Grants, Gender Research Grants und Student Grants while the latter includes Bridging Grants, Seedcorn Grants, the Visitor and International Fellowship Program, and Gender Equality and Family Support Measures.

Junior Start-Up Grants, endowed with € 3,000, are aimed at young scientists seeking to carry out a research project on their own responsibility. To support projects in behavioral economics or behavioral psychology within the field of experimental gender research, the C-SEB awards Gender Research Grants in an amount of up to € 4,000. Students pursuing behavioral science experiments for their master’s thesis can apply for a Student Grant worth up to € 1,500.

C-SEB members intending to conduct a larger research project focusing strongly on an interdisciplinary connection of scientific findings may be eligible for a Bridging Grant, endowed with up to € 30,000. For scientists planning a longer-term project with subsequent external funding, the C-SEB provides Seedcorn Grants worth up to € 5,000. Over and beyond the foregoing, researchers can apply for Visitor Program grants of up to € 2,500 to support research stays at other institutions. Guest scientists visiting at the University of Cologne may also qualify for C-SEB grants of up to € 5,000 under the International Fellowship Program. C-SEB members with children may be eligible for Gender Equality and Family Support Measures promoting diverse gender-related networking options and an improved compatibility of family and career.

Application procedure

All grants (except Gender Equality and Family Support Measures) are awarded twice per year. Calls for application are announced two months before the application closing date via the e-mail distribution lists of the two Faculties. The application closing dates are 30 April and 31 October of each year. Grant awards are decided upon by the C-SEB Executive Board on the basis of an internal evaluation of the applications received, taking into account external opinions where necessary. Grant award decisions are announced by e-mail approx. 6 weeks after the application closing date. Further information regarding the application process and the presentation of proposals can be found in the grant application forms.

Eligibility

Formal application prerequisites for the individual grants are stated in the following table. For information regarding content requirements please refer to the application documents.

Disbursement and accounting

Grant funds can be drawn in different ways, depending on demand and purpose. For an overview of the available drawing options and links to accounting forms please refer to our “Disbursement and billing information for C-SEB grant recipients”. On principle, the use of grant moneys and the accounting for disbursed funds must comply with the C-SEB Financial Guidelines and the UoC Good Scientific Practice Guidelines. Upon completion of the project, each grantee must submit a final report with a detailed cost statement as well as receipts for all expenditures of grant funds. A form for this purpose labeled C-SEB final report is likewise available.

Application forms and supplementary documents


Junior Start-Up Grant
Gender Research Grant
Student Grant
Bridging Grant
Seedcorn Grant
Visitor and International Fellowship Program
Gender Equality and Family Support Measures
Financial Guidelines
Good Scientific Practice Guidelines

Förderung

Forschungsstipendien und sonstige Fördermöglichkeiten

Forschungsförderung

Übersicht der Förderlinien

Das Zentrum für Soziales und Ökonomisches Verhalten (C-SEB) bietet zurzeit sieben Förderlinien für verschiedene Adressatengruppen an. Davon richten sich drei Stipendienprogramme an die Mitglieder der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen oder Humanwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln (UzK). Die übrigen vier Fördermaßnahmen sind den Mitgliedern des C-SEB vorbehalten. Zur erstgenannten Kategorie gehören die Programme „Junior Start-Up Grants“, „Gender Research Grants“ und „Student Grants“. Die letztgenannten Programme umfassen „Bridging Grants“, „Seedcorn Grants“, „Visitor and International Fellowship Program“ sowie „Gender Equality and Family Support Measures“.

Die mit bis zu 3.000 € dotierten „Junior Start-Up Grants“ richten sich an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler, die ein Forschungsprojekt eigenverantwortlich durchführen wollen. Zur Förderung von verhaltensökonomischen oder -psychologischen Projekten aus dem Bereich der experimentellen Geschlechterforschung vergibt das C-SEB die „Gender Research Grants“ in Höhe von bis zu 4.000 €. Studierende, die für ihre Masterarbeit verhaltenswissenschaftliche Experimente durchführen möchten, haben die Möglichkeit, einen „Student Grant“ in Höhe von bis zu 1.500 € zu erhalten.

Die mit einem Förderbetrag von bis zu 30.000 € dotierten „Bridging Grants“ adressieren Mitglieder des C-SEB, die ein größeres Forschungsvorhaben mit starkem Fokus auf die interdisziplinäre Verknüpfung von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen planen. Für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die ein längerfristiges Projekt mit anschließender Drittmittelförderung beabsichtigen, bietet das C-SEB „Seedcorn Grants“ in Höhe von bis zu 5.000 € an. Darüber hinaus können Forschende im Rahmen des „Visitor Program“ Fördermittel in Höhe von bis zu 2.500 € für Forschungsaufenthalte an anderen Einrichtungen beantragen. Gastwissenschaftler an der Universität zu Köln fördert das C-SEB zudem über das „International Fellowship Program“ mit bis zu 5.000 €. Die „Gender Equality and Family Support Measures“ bieten Wissenschaftlerinnen verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur genderbezogenen Vernetzung sowie Forschenden mit Kindern Unterstützung bei der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf.

Bewerbungsverfahren

Alle Stipendien – abgesehen von den „Gender Equality and Family Support Measures“ – werden zweimal im Jahr vergeben. Die Ausschreibung erfolgt zwei Monate vor Bewerbungsschluss über die E-Mail-Verteiler der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen sowie der Humanwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der UzK. Der Bewerbungsschluss ist jeweils der 30. April und der 31. Oktober eines Jahres.
Über die Vergabe der Stipendien entscheidet der Vorstand des C-SEB auf Basis einer internen Evaluation der eingegangenen Bewerbungen – wenn nötig unter Berücksichtigung externer Gutachten. Die Entscheidungen über die Stipendienvergabe werden jeweils etwa sechs Wochen nach Bewerbungsschluss per E-Mail bekannt gegeben. Weitere Informationen zur Bewerbung und zum Verfassen der Proposals finden Sie in den Antragsformularen der Stipendien.

Voraussetzungen

Die formalen Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen für die Fördermaßnahmen finden Sie in der folgenden Tabelle. Informationen zu den inhaltlichen Erfordernissen entnehmen Sie bitte dem Ausschreibungstext.

Auszahlung und Abrechnung

Je nach Bedarf und Zweck können bewilligte Fördermittel auf verschiedene Weise abgerufen werden. Eine Übersicht über die möglichen Bezugswege sowie die Links zu unseren Abrechnungsformularen finden Sie in unserem Informationsblatt für Stipendiaten. Grundsätzlich unterliegen die Mittelverwendung und die Abrechnung von bewilligten Geldern den weiter unten verlinkten C-SEB Finanzierungsrichtlinien und den DFG- und UzK-Richtlinien. Nach Abschluss des Projektes benötigen wir von allen Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten einen Abschlussbericht mit einer detaillierte Kostenaufstellung sowie allen Belegen über die verausgabten Mittel. Hierfür steht Ihnen ebenfalls ein Vordruck C-SEB final report zur Verfügung.

Bewerbungsformulare und ergänzende Dokumente


Junior Start-Up Grant
Gender Research Grant
Student Grant
Bridging Grant
Seedcorn Grant
Visitor and International Fellowship Program
Gender Equality and Family Support Measures
Financial Guidelines
Good Scientific Practice Guidelines