FAQ

Answers to frequently asked questions

Finding the right information on a large website can sometimes be difficult. This page was created to answer some of the questions that we hear on a regular basis. If you still have not found what you are looking for, please contact us in person, by telephone or by e-mail!

About the center

What is the C-SEB?

The Center for Social and Economic Behavior (C-SEB) is an Excellence Center in Behavioral Sciences at the University of Cologne (UoC). It brings together researchers from economics, management science, and psychology with renowned scientists from Europe and the USA to investigate the mechanisms that affect social and economic behavior.

What are the C-SEB’s aims?

The C-SEB was founded to further expand the excellent research conducted at the UoC. The aim of the center is to contribute to a better understanding of social and economic behavior through empirical research. C-SEB’s tasks in particular are to foster scientific exchange, to fund research projects, and to complement the university’s efforts in promoting junior scientists and in improving gender equality.

How is the C-SEB organized?

The center’s governance structure is formed by the executive board, the speakers, the PI board, the external scientific advisory board, and the central office. More information regarding C-SEB’s organizational structure is available on the respective information page.

Who evaluates the C-SEB’s research?

The C-SEB has many internal evaluation procedures regarding its aims, its attainment, and use of ressources. Additionally, the external scientific advisory board – an independent body of international scholars from fields related to the center’s research – evaluates the research projects and their results every two years and advises the C-SEB in all scientific and strategic matters. The current members of the board are Dan Ariely, Susan Fiske, and Uri Gneezy.

How do individuals become C-SEB members?

The C-SEB’s principal investigators may suggest qualified researchers of their research team for membership provided that their work is connected to the research areas of the center.

About the research agenda

What research is conducted at the C-SEB?

The research agenda of the C-SEB covers three separate yet interconnected fields of study which address different aspects of human behavior: Behavioral Economic Engineering, Social and Economic Cognition, and Behavioral Management Science.

Who chooses the questions that guide the C-SEB’s research?

Research questions are chosen by the center’s principal investigators together with the relevant project members. The C-SEB does not conduct contract research.

How is research conducted at the C-SEB?

At the C-SEB, research is conducted in projects. Some of these projects are carried out by individual researchers, others are conducted by international as well as interdisciplinary research groups. Research teams regularly meet for exchange and discussion in order to align their work steps. Data is mainly collected through experiments conducted with voluntary test persons. The research projects of the C-SEB are on this page.

Where does the C-SEB publish its research?

The research results of the C-SEB projects are published regularly in well-known scientific journals and book series. Moreover, many study results are discussed in public debates and appear in the media.

About the research funding

What funding lines are available?

Twice a year, the C-SEB awards research grants to outstanding scientists at the UoC who work in the field of behavioral economics and social cognition research. The C-SEB currently offers seven funding lines aimed at different beneficiary groups. More information about research grants and other funding opportunities can be found here.

How can I apply for research funding?

Calls for application are announced two months before the application closing date via the e-mail distribution list of the Faculty of Economics & Social Sciences and the Faculty of Human Sciences at the University of Cologne. Formal application prerequisites and application forms for the individual grants can be found on our webpage about research grants and other funding opportunities.

When are the application deadlines?

The application closing dates are 30 April and 31 October of each year.

How are the candidates for funding selected?

Grant awards are decided upon by the C-SEB Executive Board on the basis of an internal evaluation of the applications received, taking into account external opinions if necessary. Decision criteria are the scientific quality and originality as well as the cost efficiency of the proposed projects.

Does the C-SEB fund subprojects or projects that have already started?

The C-SEB does not offer funds for projects that have already started or that are part of a larger project. Funds are exclusively granted to new projects that have not yet started.

About the disbursement of funds

How do I account for my expenses?

Depending on demand and purpose, granted funds can be drawn in different ways. Generally, requests to draw funds and to get reimbursed have to be approved by the C-SEB’s central office. For an overview of the available drawing options and links to our accounting forms, please refer to our “Disbursement and billing information for C-SEB grant recipients”.

Do I have to use granted funds for the purposes stated in the project application?

On principle, funds are exclusively granted for the project specified in the application. Therefore, it is not possible to use such funds for other purposes. In justified exceptional cases, funds may be reallocated to different financial categories of a project. If you wish to reallocate funds within a project, please send an informal request to the C-SEB Central Office stating the reason for the changes and the new use of the granted funds.

Can I use remaining money for other research projects?

On principle, granted funds are bound to the project specified in the funding application. Therefore, it is not possible to use such funds for other projects.

What is the deadline for spending my granted funds?

Funds may be spent within one year from the time they have been granted. This applies to all funding except for the bridging grants.

FAQ

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen

Manche Fragen tauchen immer wieder auf. Hier finden Sie die Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen nach Themen sortiert. Falls Ihre Frage nicht beantwortet wird oder Sie weiterführende Informationen benötigen, können Sie sich gerne persönlich, telefonisch oder per E-Mail an uns wenden!

Fragen zum Zentrum

Was ist das C-SEB?

Das Zentrum für Soziales und Ökonomisches Verhalten (C-SEB) ist ein verhaltenswissenschaftliches Exzellenzzentrum der Universität zu Köln (UzK). Es bringt weltweit renommierte Kölner Forscher aus der Wirtschaftswissenschaft und der Psychologie zusammen. In enger Kooperation mit Wissenschaftlern aus Europa und den USA erforschen sie die Grundprinzipien sozialen und ökonomischen Verhaltens.

Was sind die Aufgaben des C-SEB?

Das C-SEB wurde gegründet, um die exzellente Forschung an der UzK weiter auszubauen. Das Zentrum strebt an, mithilfe empirischer Forschung zu einem besseren Verständnis sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Verhaltens beizutragen. Zu den Aufgaben des C-SEB gehören vor allem die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Austauschs, die Finanzierung von Forschungsprojekten sowie die Unterstützung der universitären Einrichtungen bei der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter.

Wie ist das C-SEB aufgebaut?

Die Leitungsstruktur des Zentrums setzt sich aus dem Vorstand (Executive Board), den Vorstandssprechern (Speakers), dem Rat der Forschungsgruppenleiter (PI Board), dem externen wissenschaftlichen Beirat (External Scientific Advisory Board) und der Geschäftsstelle (Central Office) zusammen. Mehr Informationen zur Aufbau von C-SEB finden Sie auf der entsprechenden Informationsseite.

Wer bewertet die Arbeit des C-SEB?

Durch regelmäßige Selbst- und Fremdevaluierung legt das C-SEB über Zielsetzung, Zielerreichung und Ressourceneinsatz Rechenschaft ab. Der externe wissenschaftliche Beirat, eine international besetzte, unabhängige wissenschaftliche Kommission, begutachtet zudem alle zwei Jahre die Forschungsarbeit und ihre Ergebnisse und berät bei allen wissenschaftlichen und strategischen Angelegenheiten. Die derzeitigen Mitglieder des Beirats sind Dan Ariely, Susan Fiske und Uri Gneezy.

Wie wird man C-SEB-Mitglied?

Die Forschungsgruppenleiterinnen und -leiter des C-SEB können qualifizierte Forschende ihres Lehrstuhls für eine Mitgliedschaft vorschlagen, sofern deren Arbeit einen inhaltlichen Bezug zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten des Zentrums aufweist.

Fragen zum Forschungsprogramm

Welche Forschung wird am C-SEB durchgeführt?

Die Forschungsagenda des C-SEB deckt drei unterschiedliche, aber eng miteinander verbundene Forschungsbereiche ab: das Economic Engineering, die soziale und ökonomische Kognitionsforschung und die verhaltenswissenschaftliche Managementlehre.

Wer stellt die Forschungsfragen des C-SEB?

Die Forschungsfragen des Zentrums werden von den Forschungsgruppenleiterinnen und -leitern zusammen mit ihren jeweiligen Projektmitarbeitern definiert. Das C-SEB betreibt keine Auftragsforschung.

Wie läuft die Forschungsarbeit am C-SEB ab?

Die Forschungsarbeit am C-SEB findet in Projekten statt, die teils von einzelnen Wissenschaftlern, teils von internationalen sowie interdisziplinären Forschergruppen durchgeführt werden. Die Forscherteams tauschen sich regelmäßig aus, um die Arbeitsschritte miteinander abzustimmen. Erforderliche Daten werden in den meisten Fällen durch Experimente mit freiwilligen Probanden gewonnen. Die Forschungsprojekte des C-SEB finden Sie unter diesem Link.

Wo sind die Forschungsergebnisse zu finden?

Die Forschungsergebnisse aus den Projekten des C-SEB werden regelmäßig in bekannten Wissenschaftszeitschriften und Buchreihen veröffentlicht. Darüber hinaus werden viele Untersuchungsergebnisse in öffentlichen Debatten und von den Medien aufgegriffen.

Fragen zu Fördermöglichkeiten

Welche Fördermöglichkeiten gibt es?

Das C-SEB vergibt regelmäßig Förderstipendien an herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Verhaltensökonomie und der sozialen Kognitionsforschung. Zurzeit existieren sieben Förderlinien für verschiedene Adressatengruppen. Einen Überblick über die Fördermaßnahmen sowie alle für die Bewerbung notwendigen Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Überblicksseite zu Forschungsstipendien und sonstigen Fördermöglichkeiten..

Wie kann ich mich für ein Stipendium bewerben?

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt zwei Monate vor Bewerbungsschluss über die E-Mail-Verteiler der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen und der Humanwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln. Die formalen Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen und alle Antragsformulare für die Fördermaßnahmen finden Sie auf der Überblicksseite zu Forschungsstipendien und sonstigen Fördermöglichkeiten..

Wann enden die Bewerbungsfristen?

Der Bewerbungsschluss ist jeweils der 30. April und der 31. Oktober eines Jahres.

Wie werden die Förderkandidaten ausgewählt?

Über die Vergabe der Stipendien entscheidet der Vorstand des C-SEB auf Basis einer internen Evaluation der eingegangenen Bewerbungen – wenn nötig unter Berücksichtigung externer Gutachten. Die entscheidenden Kriterien für die Vergabe der Fördermittel sind die wissenschaftliche Qualität und Originalität sowie Kosteneffizienz der Projektvorschläge.

Fördert das C-SEB auch laufende Projekte oder Teilprojekte?

Bereits laufende Projekte, Teilprojekte oder Projekte, die im Nachhinein angefragt werden, werden nicht gefördert. Das C-SEB fördert ausschließlich neue Projekte, die noch nicht begonnen haben.

Fragen zur Mittelverwendung

Wie rechne ich meine Ausgaben ab?

Je nach Bedarf und Zweck können bewilligte Fördermittel auf verschiedene Weise abgerufen werden. Grundsätzlich gilt, dass jeder Mittelabruf und jede Rückerstattung durch die Geschäftsstelle des C-SEB abgewickelt wird. Eine Übersicht über die möglichen Bezugswege von Geldmitteln sowie Links zu unseren Abrechnungsformularen finden Sie in unserem Informationsblatt „Disbursement and billing information for C-SEB grant recipients“.

Muss ich bewilligte Mittel für die im Antrag angegebenen Zwecke nutzen?

Grundsätzlich werden Gelder ausschließlich für die im Antrag angegebenen Zwecke bewilligt. Es ist nicht möglich, die gewährten Fördermittel eigenverantwortlich umzuwidmen. In begründeten Ausnahmefällen ist jedoch ein Transfer von Geldern innerhalb eines Projektes möglich. In diesem Fall muss ein formloser Änderungsantrag gestellt werden aus dem hervorgeht, warum diese Änderung notwendig ist und wie die bewilligten Mittel verwendet werden sollen.

Kann ich bewilligte Mittel, die ich nicht ausgegeben habe, für andere Projekte nutzen?

Bewilligte Mittel sind grundsätzlich an das im Förderungsantrag angegebene Projekt gebunden. Daher ist eine Verwendung dieser Mittel für andere Projekte nicht möglich.

Bis wann muss ich bewilligte Mittel ausgegeben haben?

Für die Ausgabe der bewilligten Mittel steht Ihnen ein Zeitrahmen von einem Jahr ab Bewilligung zur Verfügung. Dies gilt für alle Förderlinien außer den „Bridging Grants“.